Sleep? We’re in Prague!

For the past two nights, Amber and I have been burning more than just the midnight oil. Last night’s bedtime: 3:00am. Night before last: 5:30am (for me, Amber’s was 7am) Prague doesn’t really sleep and neither have we.
Friday night: Sitting outside the Czech Inn having a smoky treat, these two guys start talking to me and ask if Amber and I would like to go to Acropolis Club. They try to ply us with Brazilian guys going to the club too (one was French, the other an American mutt) which just made us laugh. I mean, really, like Brazilians make EVERY adventure better? Our clubbing group became much larger with 2 French girls and 2 Canadians, making total of 10 strangers on a search for beer, dancing, and fun. Amber almost dropped out to go back to Cross Club but I convinced her that we could club hop. Prague doesn’t sleep, so why not?
Thibault, the Frenchman, was leading our pack with Amber speaking French with him. Omar…well he was definitely hitting on me but 19 year olds definitely do not float my boat. Our little group navigates the streets around the tv tower(this is a weird tower. Huge with big ass babies crawling all over it). Once there, we descend into the club, obtain drinks, and check the place out. Two small rooms (small for a club)hold a reggae band and a DJ. I’m a bit of a techno snob but eventually I get dancing and Thibault proves to be more than a white man wiggle kind of guy. As the night progresses, we get so into dancing together that we end up unintentionally clearing a space on the floor and receive claps and hoots and hollers of approval. Wow! I don’t blush often, but I think that was one of those moments.
Amber had wanted to leave before the metro stopped at 1am but found the time to be 12:54am. No Cross Club for us since we were not interested in paying for a cab. So the night wore on with dancing and getting to know the other travelers in our group. It had been awhile since I had seen Amber, so I went looking. Nowhere. She was nowhere. I started to feel bit uneasy but I figured I probably just missed her somewhere. So Thibault and I keep dancing. We take a beer break and I look for Amber again. Nowhere. We bump into Omar and he conveys Amber’s message that she’s outside trying to talk with a Czech guy. Feeling relieved, I head out there. No Amber. I go back in, interrogate Omar who says she was just outside, I check the club again and get worried.
No Amber.
Thibault can see the concern on my face so he offers to go walk around a few blocks with me to try to find her. We walk quickly and at every corner I do a “Whoop! Whoop!” (we learned it from Denver Cruisers:-) and wait to hear a return call.
Nothing.
Yes, I know Amber is a big girl and can take care of herself, but we’re in a foreign country and she didn’t say she was taking off. She’s good at disappearing on me in the States. Here, it made me very uneasy. Thibault and I go back to the club and take another look. No Amber. We go back outside for a smoke in hopes that maybe she comes around the corner or out of the club. We wait for about 30 minutes which makes our happy adrenaline rushes from dancing fade. Thibault suggests we head back to the hostel. I agree, thinking maybe Amber had enough and went back for some sleep.
Upon arrival, I check her bed. No Amber. Damnit woman! Where the hell are you?!? I head back down to the lobby, still worried. Thibault decides to keep me company while I sit and hope that Amber walks through the doors.
4:00am: No Amber
4:30am: No Amber
5:00am: Still no Amber
5:20am: Too tired to stay up, I decide to head to my room.
Thibault asks what will I do if she doesn’t return later in the morning. Call the police. All my mind can think about is if Amber’s dead in a gutter, her mom is totally going to kill me. I climb into bed, trying to figure out what time I should wake up if I do need to call the police, when the door swings open.
Amber!
Where the hell were you?!?!? She apologizes and says, “I’m so sorry, I hope you weren’t freaking out too much. I just had the most awesome night ever! But someone is waiting for me so I have to go…”
Jeezy Chrizy, woman. Let me say, I slept like the dead.

Leave a Reply

